The Bus Stop

Mar 25, 2022 to Mar 26, 2022

07:30 pm - 09:30 pm

1615 State Street
La Crosse Wisconsin, 54601

Event Website

(608) 785-6701

The University of Wisconsin – La Crosse Department of Theatre Arts is proud to present The Bus Stop by Nobel Prize winner Gao Xingjian, an absurdist satire that mobilized anxieties about government inefficiency and personal sacrifice. The Bus Stop will show at 7:30 p.m. on March 25-26 and Sunday matinees at 2:00 p.m. on March 26-27 in Frederick Theatre, Morris Hall, on the corner of 16th and State Streets.

The Bus Stop tells the story of eight characters, each representing different elements of Chinese society: Old Man, Mother, Young Women, Carpenter, Manager Ma, Man Wearing Glasses, Brash Young Man, and Silent Man. Each character has hopes for the future, which can only be realized by moving forward into the city. However, their means of transport, a public bus, repeatedly passes by without stopping. Failing to take initiative, the characters remain at the bus stop, passing the time by complaining about the ills of society and their own lack of accomplishment, becoming more desperate and disillusioned.

Tickets go on sale online beginning Friday, October 1, 2021 at In person/phone ticket sales begin March 21 at 1:00 p.m. Box office hours are 1:00 to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday and one hour before show times. Tickets are $20 for adults, $18 for senior/non UWL students and $8 for UW-L students; call (608) 785-6696.

WHO: UW-La Crosse Department of Theatre Arts
WHAT: The Bus Stop by Gao Xingjian
WHERE: Frederick Theatre, Morris Hall, located on 16th and State streets.
WHEN: March 25-26 at 7:30 p.m. and March 26-27 at 2:00 p.m.
COST: $20 adults; $18 seniors citizens/non UW-L students; $8 UW-L students. General Admission. Tickets may be purchased online at beginning October 1, 2021. In person/phone reservations begin March 21 by calling 608-785-6696. Box office hours are Monday through Friday 1:00-4:30 p.m. and one hour prior to each performance.
PRODUCTION TEAM: Karen M. Dabney (Director), Laura Felde (Stage Manager), Michelle Collyar (Costume Designer), Talia Mentjes (Scenic Designer), Ben Golden (Sound Designer), Mandy Kolbe (Lighting Designer), Megan Morey (Technical Director)