“Made in America”

Nov 12, 2022

07:30 pm - 09:30 pm

929 Jackson St
La Crosse, 54601

Event Website

(608) 783-2121

Following one of our great LSO traditions, our November concert celebrates America, with a special salute to our many veterans, past and present. Commissioned by the Ford Motor Company Foundation and a consortium of regional orchestras, Joan Tower’s Made In America is a gutsy salute to America at the start of the new millennium; and three of Aaron Copland’s finest wartime essays in Americana — his World War II-era nocturne, Letter from Home, and the broadly lyrical orchestra suite from his only opera, following on the success of his Appalachian Spring in the years of the Cold War — will bring the evening to a triumphant close. In the middle, a soaring and festive piano concerto, in the style of Tchaikovsky and Liszt, but actually of America’s first great professional composer: the Victorian-era genius, Edward MacDowell. The phenomenal, prize-winning young American pianist Drew Petersen will make it the vehicle of his LSO debut.

“Made in America”

Bob Lowden: Armed Forces Salute

Joan Tower: Made In America

Edward MacDowell: Piano Concerto No.2 in D minor
I. Allegro
II. Andante
III. Presto in moto perpetuo

Drew Petersen, piano


Aaron Copland: Preamble to a Solemn Occasion (1949)

Letter from Home (1944)

Suite from The Tender Land (1954)

SPONSORED BY: Advisor’s Management Group, Inc.